Sleep Training, Speech Therapy, and a Sick Dog

Since you got a faux-headline last week, thought I’d just give it to you straight up with today’s post.

No idea why this happened. I guess it just looked tasty.
No idea why this happened. I guess it just looked tasty.

So sleep training. (If you can call it ‘sleep training’ when the kid is almost two-and-a-half.)

Most of you know we have co-slept with Nolan since he was about four months old. This was not born of some commitment to a parenting style or philosophy, or sudden parental sentiment or anything. It was flat out the only way we could get the kid to stay asleep once we’d lay him down, and after four months of trying anything else to get him to stay asleep, we’d moved from sleep deprived to crazy town.

Who me? Never!
Who me? Never!

A few weeks after we moved in to our new digs up here, we bought him his very own Big Boy Bed. He loved it! It was great for jumping on, using as a step stool, etc. But any time I’d lay him down in it (already sleeping, of course), rarely would an hour pass before he was up and wanting to sleep in our bed. We called it practice, and once he woke up we’d let him sleep the rest of the night or nap in mom and dad’s bed.

So it’s been for the last couple of months.

About to flip it over
The shirt says ‘I get my muscles from my dad’. (I know you were wondering.)

The other night, however, after one early morning toddler party too many I decided it was time. I wouldn’t exactly say we spent time on a lead-in or planning. More like, kid wanted to party at 3am one night last week, and I used all my NOPEs at once.

Still can't believe she did that to me! Obviously, I'm scarred.
Still can’t believe she did that to me! Obviously, I’m scarred.

As of six days ago, (and after just that one rough night of quiet soothing, but no nursing or co-sleeping) our little man is both night-weaned and sleeping in his own bed.

John's considering shaving his head.
Nolan doesn’t let that orange ring get in the way of a strong grip. John’s considering shaving his head.

The only explanation I have for the superfast adjustment period is that he was ready, and it was definitely the right time for us all.

HOORAY!

This is what happens nearly every time I try to take a photo these days. Constant motion!
This is what happens nearly every time I try to take a photo these days. Constant motion!

In other news, speech therapy seems to be going well. We’ve identified three “words” Nolan actually uses from time to time (“mom”, “dad”, and “nurse”). He’s also resumed some signing, and he’s getting really good at singing along with mom. If I ever catch him singing on his own, you can bet I’ll post a video!

Curls!! I cannot bring myself to cut them off yet. And John has persuaded himself that it counts as a mullet.
Curls!! I cannot bring myself to cut them off yet. John has persuaded himself that it counts as a mullet, so I have some time yet.

Lastly, poor Greta pup is having a hard time of it. She began having some odd symptoms over the weekend so we took her to the off-hours vet. Poor thing was diagnosed with an idiopathic nerve disorder that I can’t pronounce, and that they have no medicine to treat. Her symptoms should clear up on their own in the next couple of weeks, but in the meantime, pup’s getting some extra TLC around the house.

Hope she feels better soon!
Hope she feels better soon. Not used to this dog being so quiet and calm!

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend. Anything special going on later this week?

(Besides my birthday, of course.) :)

What do you think?

