Silver Linings

First, an update — there was a misprint in Friday’s post. R2 here actually weighs 13lbs.

d
At six weeks old. I actually Googled “newborn gaining too much weight?” today. (Not a thing to be concerned about, I’m told.)

And now, lest you think I only document the good stuff…

Let me tell you about the last four nights.

For starters, this post was originally going to be titled “Sleep Regression”. That should give you an idea how our weekend went.

d
Hey, play is play, right?

As I mentioned the other day, pretty boy here has been known to throw a party around 3am. That’s not news. But three nights in a row, until 5am?

If you’ve seen any of the Lethal Weapon movies, you know what Danny Glover’s catchphrase was. That’s me today. (If you haven’t seen it, you should because they’re excellent movies; they’re also liberally salted with colorful language, so fair warning.)

Anyway, it’s not uncommon for children with a new sibling in the house to experience sleep regression, where their previously established habits might fly out the window for awhile. We knew this, but seeing as R2 is six weeks old, we thought maybe we’d gotten away with it.

Hah. Fat chance.
Hah. Fat chance.

There is a bright side, though. Niblet caught his first proper cold from school, scary-sounding cough and everything!

I really do feed him things that aren't sandwiches, I swear.
I really do feed him things that aren’t sandwiches, I swear.

This is the bright side because now even he is too tired to party in the wee hours. (I’ll take all the silver linings I can get, thank you very much.)

And in the natural progression of things, today John and myself have acquired our own proper colds.

Snoozing in between toddler shrieks. You'd think the cold would help diminish the noise around here. (Spoiler alert: it doesn't.)
Snoozing in between toddler shrieks. You’d think the cold would help diminish the noise around here. (Spoiler alert: it doesn’t.)

So today, we’re having a couch-and-jammies day. (Except poor John, of course. He gets our whining via text, though – I’d hate him to feel left out.)

What does all this have to do with these photos? Absolutely nothing. These photos are to remind me that the snoring chunky monkey in my lap and my rambunctious little snot-factory are also the beautiful lights o’ my life.

Hope there’s a silver lining around your Monday, too!

Chunky monkey.
Chunky monkey – the name on the back of his jerseys, probably.
2 thoughts on “Silver Linings

What do you think?

