A January Post That Isn’t About My Birthday

Last year I told you that my New Year’s resolutions were to finish unpacking our luggage from our Christmas trip and to pay off our mortgage.

Got that first one done by the end of that month, yay! But shortly after posting that slightly grander ambition, we found out baby #2 was on his way so we missed that goal by an R2-sized chunk of change.

Gerber baby.jpeg
Go on, ask me if it was worth it.

I bring this up now because it proves my point from that post a year ago – set a goal, because even if you don’t reach it you’ll get a lot further than not setting one at all. Despite our plan’s temporary derailment, our mortgage will be paid off in early 2016. Not too shabby, if I do say so myself.

And speaking of goal-setting… If, like me, one of this year’s resolutions is to improve yourself by extensive reading, you could do a lot worse than pick up a copy of Steve Kamb’s Level Up Your Life.

LUYL.jpg
I don’t get paid for this. This is just a good book. So good, I actually mailed a copy to four other people before I got finished reading it.

In other news, we’re riding out the southern Indiana snowstorm.

Good dexterity.jpeg
I don’t know whether to find this funny or slightly alarming.

I haven’t had the nerve to try taking both children out in the snow yet. Which means we’re finding new ways all the time to scare the bejeezus out of mom.

Exhibit A: Somehow our makeshift weight room turned up a life-sized ring stacker.

 

(For the record, I intervened at the 10lb mark.)

Little brother is doing his utmost to catch up. Just past four months old, and he’s sitting up and about halfway to crawling.

So fun.jpeg
God help me, I’m never going to be able to catch them both.

Nolan resumes speech therapy within the next couple of weeks. His attempts at communication the last few weeks have been really encouraging; we’re excited to see what the next few months bring!

Working it out.jpeg
Nolan the Builder

Hope everybody’s enjoying their snow days – and if you can’t enjoy it, at least stay warm!

Boys.jpeg

What do you think?

